Welcoming Lwin – a new PhD candidate from Myanmar

© Lwin Thuzar Nyein

Hello everyone, I am Lwin Thuzar Nyein. I come from Myanmar. I joined the Chair of Tropical and  International Forestry in April 2023 as a doctoral candidate for the Joint Ph.D. Programme in Integrated Management of Water, Soil, and Waste, jointly offered by the United Nations University Institute for Integrated Management of Material Fluxes and Resources (UNU-FLORES) and the Technische Universität Dresden, Germany. As part of UNU-FLORES, I represent as a doctoral researcher of the “Resource Nexus for Sustainability Transformations” program (NEXtra) under the DAAD-EPOS (development-oriented postgraduate studies) funding program.

 I am working on the topic “Mangrove forest management outcomes based on actor-centred analysis in Myanmar”, where my study focuses on sustainable mangrove ecological and socio-economic outcomes for mangrove restoration in different mangrove ecosystem areas of Myanmar. I hope that my research’s findings can help to achieve the following UN Sustainable Development Goals: SDG 2 (No Hunger), SDG 8 (Good Jobs and Economic Growth), SDG 12 (Responsible Consumption and Production), SDG 13 (Climate Action), and SDG 14 and 15 (Life Below Water and Life on Land) for people living in the mangrove ecosystem of Myanmar.

Before accepting this post, I had been working as a teaching assistant in the Department of Soil and Water Science, at Yezin Agricultural University, Myanmar since 2013. With the aid of a DAAD grant, I completed the “Agricultural Sciences and Resource Management in Tropics and Subtropics (ARTS)” course at the University of Bonn in Germany in 2020 and received my master’s degree. I focused on resource management and the ecosystem approach to agricultural sciences during my master’s degree. I am knowledgeable with agroecosystems, water and soil conservation methods using agroforestry, crop nutrition, and environmental soil sciences. Regarding my future carrier, I am particularly interested in learning more about how managing natural resource interact with social, economic and environmental concerns. Therefore, I consequently made the decision to join this institute and UNU-FLORES since it combines my passion for the transformation of sustainable resource nexus with my understanding of the growth of mangrove restoration and integrated resources management in the Global South, particularly my own country, Myanmar.

The forest landscape in Tharandt is very nice and my colleagues at the institute extend a hearty welcome to me. I’m very happy to be a part of this outstanding team. From my regular interactions with the professors, post-doctoral, and doctoral candidates, as well as other research assistants in the institute, I’m looking forward to learning more knowledge about research to strengthen my academic profile.

By Lwin Thuzar Nyein